Learning at KNS

Learning is at the heart of everything we do.

At Kelburn Normal, we have developed a framework for our teaching based on the requirements of the New Zealand curriculum.

The curriculum sets the direction, and individual schools use that to design teaching programmes. Schools and communities working in partnership can use this document as the starting point for creating exciting learning opportunities that take account of the different learning needs of their students.

Within the curriculum there are eight learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics and statistics
  • The arts
  • Science
  • Social sciences
  • Technology
  • Learning languages
  • Health and physical education

And five key competencies. The key competencies relate to how we all live, learn, work and contribute to society throughout their lives.


Using language, symbols, and texts – different ways to communicate and understand information

Managing self – a "can-do" attitude

Relating to others – being able to listen, see different points of view, share ideas

Participating and contributing – being a good group member and including others

For more information on the national curriculum, go to http://www.teamup.co.nz/AllAges/Curriculum/SchoolCurriculum.aspx.

To understand more about some of our programmes:

Kelburn Normal has a rich performing arts programme which provides learning opportunities for all students and also aims to nurture their diverse talents and needs find out more about Performing Arts

During the past decade the school has also developed an awareness of the local environment, primarily through the development of our native gully. Lots of interesting work has taken place as you can see here – find out more about Environment.

At times during the year, junior classes participate in the Perceptual Motor Programme (PMP). This is a fun programme that aims to help children understand themselves better through movement – (paper to come)